I’ve Been Pinned!

socialicons_pinterest

I gave in. Caved. Submitted to peer pressure.

I set up a Pinterest account.

Those of you who know me, or have been reading, may remember that traditionally I have been Anti-Pin. The idea of copying what someone else has already done just doesn’t appeal to me. And the entire boards devoted to Elves-on-Shelves were nauseating. At least, I heard enough about them through Facebook to be totally turned off. Oh, forget it – I’m just gonna be honest here. The fact is that I’m just vain and proud enough to want to come up with my own stinkin’ ideas about how to decorate my home. So I rebelled. Besides, I think Pinstrosity is way more fun and entertaining. The Spouse and I got some good laughs out of a post just last night, in fact.

So why did I abandon my scruples and join the despised P?

I had to. Scratch that – it was strongly suggested by the creators of the blogging class I’m currently taking. And like any overachieving good student, I obeyed. Kicking and screaming, but I obeyed. Started checking it out.

Bottom line? I don’t get it. All this time, I’ve been under the impression that people posted pics of their oh-so-amazing craftiness, along with instructions for us lesser-talented folks to follow.

Am I missing something? All I see are a bunch of pictures. I even went to the Help section, which describes the Pin as basically a virtual bulletin board for images. Huh? Images? If it’s just pictures, where on earth am I supposed to get the supplies and directions to actually make these goodies?

Maybe it’s a learning curve. Maybe my age (!) somehow keeps me from getting this whole Pinterest thing. But I’m stymied. Confounded. Just plain ol’ confoosed.

So I’m about ready to give up the Pin once and for all – unless y’all have some advice, directions or a smack upside my head for me that will help me to figure this stuff out. Quickly. Cause I don’t have tons of free time to sit around trying to figure out how to pin, repin, unpin, etc. At this point I’m about to stick a big ol’ pin in my eye.

Mayday!! Please! Help me understand this stuff – and why I should even bother!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’ve Been Pinned!

  1. Shannon Ballard

    If you see a picture that you like, click on it. Then click on it again and it will take you to the website–usually a blog–that has instructions, etc. I enjoy Pinterest for the recipes mostly, and have found some great ones that the girls and I like. I’ve also found some disasters, but we’ll save that for another day.

Leave a Reply

